The Top Songs of 2010

Every year I like to compile the 50 best songs of the year and create a three volume CD set. This year, though, things will be a bit different. CD’s aren’t quite as vogue as they used to be (though I still like the length), so this year I will be posting all three volumes to the internet and allowing YOU the reader to either burn them to disc or just put them right into a playlist. Simple, right?

The 50 tracks aren’t in a numerical countdown order, but each volume is in order as a CD would play. I like to think of baseball when I make mixes, like making the best possible batting order. So, I will list each track here, so please try to keep them in the order I provide… I’m crazy like that.

OK, without further ado…

Top Tracks of 2010 Vol. 1

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=OJ4E0HEM

1. Shugo Tokumaru – Platform
This is a small trifle to start the mix with and heralds the beginning of one of the years most original and entertaining records.

2. Hot Chip – Take It In
A brilliant, dark dance track from the English electropop band. It has a wonderfully droning melody that explodes into life with one of the great pop hooks of the year.

3. The National – Bloodbuzz Ohio
This band keeps on getting better with each release. Matt Beringer’s deep, soulful voice is unique in the world of alternative rock and the band never cease to understand how to craft a good pop song.

4. 2NE1 – You & I
Technically, this a Park Bom’s solo track on the 2NE1 record, but it is still credited to all of them. It’s Korean Pop, so start making fun of me now. If you know me, then you know that the last six months of my life have been glittered with Korean Pop music and dramas (can’t get enough) and 2NE1 have been right at the forefront. You really should watch the video for this one… so good!!

5. RPA and the United Nations of Sound – Born Again
Ashcroft – soul – Awesome!

6. Carl Barat – Run With The Boys
Ex – Libertines member, Carl Barat has shirked off his Dirty Pretty Things and come out with a really great solo record. There are standout tracks all over the record (see later in the list) and this single is the top gear of the bunch. I also think this video is the best video of the year.

7. Foals – This Orient
Another song with an explosive chorus and masterful pop sensibility. The only problem with this English outfit is their wooly hipster appearance…

8. Capsule – Stay With You
STAY WIT CHEW! This was my song of spring and is at its best when turned up full blast. I dare you not to be happy after listening to this track from the Japanese hit makers.

9. Belle and Sebastian – I Didn’t See It Coming
This is quite possibly one of Belle’s best tracks. Not only did it herald a welcome return to form for the band, but it provided us all with the best pop moment in any song released this year. Stuart’s “Make me Dance” crooning near the end of the track sends the track into space and raises the hair on the back of my neck!

10. The Wombats – Tokyo (Vampires & Wolves)
This could be dismissed as just another rocker track from the English outfit, but I feel it has so much more. It has what a love, a great hook, great energy and never outstays its welcome.

11. Crocodiles – Hearts of Love
This track is what would happen if the Beach Boys had sex with the Jesus and Mary Chain. The band is from San Diego (totally unlikely) and has one of the strangest videos I have seen in a long, long time. Also, this is REALLY good to listen to LOUD in the car!

12. The Divine Comedy – Have You Ever Been In Love
This track comes from one of the best records of the year and I chose this because of what it meant to me during the summer. It captured an elated feeling that fluttered about in the June / July air and was utterly intoxicating. Sure, it is sappy, but I am a great big SAP.

13. Badly Drawn Boy – Too Many Miracles
A nice melancholy track from BDB and it was just what I needed to hear upon its release.

14. iLL – Eden
Sometimes I feel like I am the only fan of this band in the entire world. iLL are a Japanese experimental rock outfit made up of Nakamura Koji, formerly of the band Supercar. Like that band, iLL feature dream-like melodies and droning guitar splashed over an electronic landscape… SO GOOD! It is my hope that I get to see them perform live one day!

15. The Radio Dept. – The Video Dept.
One of my favorite bands, one of my favorite records of the year, one of the best songs recorded this year… amazing.

16. Broken Social Scene – All to All
Wow, this is unexpected. I had left this band for dead after seeing them perform a terrible live show and never thought they would cross my path again. However, this single melted away those memories with its excellent melody. Note to self, just don’t go see them in concert again…

17. Daft Punk – End of Line
This is a great track from a fairly awesome soundtrack to Tron: Legacy. Sure the movie wasn’t as good as I hoped, but the score was! It has a splash of John Carpenter’s Escape From New York in there, some Tangerine Dream… and definite Daft Punk. I love it, program!

One response to “The Top Songs of 2010

Leave a Reply

